

NOAA
DAVID
JOHNSON
AWARDFor Outstanding Innovative Use of
Earth Observation Satellite Data

The NOAA David Johnson Award is presented by the National Space Club in honor of the first Administrator of what was to become the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS).

This award is given to young professionals who have developed an innovative application of Earth observation satellite data (alone or in combination with non-satellite data) that is, or could be, used for operational purposes to assess and/or predict atmospheric, oceanic, or terrestrial conditions.

Examples include, but are certainly not limited to, the use of Earth observation data for fire monitoring, weather forecasting, climate monitoring or prediction, global change detection, volcanic ash tracking, vegetation/drought monitoring, oil spill tracking, rainfall measurements or forecasts, hurricane landfall predictions, and fisheries management. The satellite data used may be from any Earth observation satellite such as a NOAA or other U.S. Government, commercial, or foreign satellite. An award committee of eminent professionals in the field will select the recipient for this award. The nominee must be a United States citizen, national, or permanent resident and not more than 40 years of age on December 31, 2023.

Nominations may be submitted for individuals or groups. If nominating a group, all members of the group should have been actively involved in the design and/ or implementation of the application, and each must be a United States citizen, national, or permanent resident. In addition, the leader of the group must be clearly identified and meet the age qualification.

For complete information about the nomination process, please click <u>here</u>.

Award Nomination Deadline is September 29, 2023

David Johnson Award Recipients

2023 **Stephanie Stevenson** NOAA, National Hurricane Center

2022 **Dr. Dalia Kirschbaum** NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

2021 **David A. Peterson** Naval Research Laboratory

2020 **Alejandro Egido** Global Science & Technology, Inc.

2019 **Claire Porter** Polar Geospatial Center, University of Minnesota

2018 **Scott D. Rudlosky** NOAA, Center for Satellite Applications and Research

2017 **Dan Lindsey** NOAA, Center for Satellite Applications and Research

2016 **Dr. John T. Reager** NASA, Jet Propulsion Laboratory

2015 **Dr. Michael J. Pavolonis** NOAA, National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information

2014 Dr. Craig Ferguson

Service

Atmospheric Sciences Research Center, State University of New York at Albany

2013 **Dr. Douglas Morton** NASA, Goddard Space Flight Center

2012 **Dr. Jianglong Zhang** University of North Dakota

2011 **Lidia Cucurull, Ph.D.** NOAA, National Weather Service 2010 **Molly Brown** University of Maryland, College Park

2009 William J. Blackwell MIT Lincoln Laboratory

2008 **Peter J. Etnoyer** Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies

2007 **Dr. Steven D. Miller** Naval Research Laboratory

2006 **Jeffrey T. Morisette** NASA, Goddard Space Flight Center

2005 **Jason P. Dunion** University of Miami, Cooperative Institute of Marine and Atmospheric Studies

2004 **Dr. John Knaff** Colorado State University,

Cooperative Institute of Marine and Atmospheric Studies

2003 **Jim Cantore** Weather Channel

2002 **Dr. Jun Li** University of Wisconsin-Madison,Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies

2001 **Dr. Brian J. Soden** NOAA, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory

2000 **Dr. K.J. Schrab** NOAA, National Weather Service

1999 **Dr. F. Weng** NOAA, National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service

THE NATIONAL SPACE CLUB

The National Space Club is a non-profit organization devoted to fostering excellence in space activity through interaction between industry and government, and through a continuing program of educational support. Awards are offered to recognize significant achievements in space science and enterprise. Scholarships and other education support are a major focus of Club activity. The NOAA David Johnson Award is bestowed in honor of the first Administrator of NOAA's National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service. The award is presented by The National Space Club at the annual Dr. Robert H. Goddard Memorial Dinner.

DR. ROBERT H. GODDARD MEMORIAL DINNER

The Dr. Robert H. Goddard Memorial Dinner is the major event of the National Space Club calendar, first celebrated in 1958. Held each year in late March or early April, near the anniversary of the first successful flight by Dr. Goddard of a liquidfueled rocket, this black tie event brings together 2,000 members of the government, industry and educational space communities.